King’s Crown Vs. Queen’s Crown: Know The Difference


The word ‘’ Crown” is derived from the Latin word “Corona” meaning Wreath. The crown is believed to have originated from Asia and Egypt before being adopted in Europe, where it has been used for a very long time (several thousand years) as a symbol of power and majesty. A crown can be defined as a traditional symbolic form of specially designed headwear, worn by a monarch or by a person (Hero and Heroines) for whom the crown represents power, authority, legitimacy, glory, victory, triumph, honor, immortality, righteousness and resurrection.  

A crow is often an emblem of the monarchy, a monarch’s government, or items endorsed by it. In this regard, Kings and queens of England have stored crowns, robes and other items of their ceremonial regalia at the tower of London for over 600 years. Upon the death of a monarch, the crown is placed on the casket during the funeral service.

The King’s Crown


The king’s crown also referred to as Imperial crown, is designed with eight hoops rising up from the crown ring and joining in the middle under an orb of blue enamel with gold stars and a band of pearls. At the top, there is a cross of six amethysts. Four of the hoops are flat and shaped like oak leaves. The four other hoops are filigreed and shaped like bay leaves. In the middle of the crown ring is a large, green tourmaline. The cap of purple velvet is decorated with small crowns and 50 pearls.


The crown is made of 20-carat gold, pearls and assorted gemstones such as amethysts, opals, peridots, chrysophrases, topazes, tourmalines, sapphires and emeralds.


Height: averagely 26.5 cm

Diameter: Averagely 20cm

Weight: Averagely 1500 grams

The Queen’s Crown


Just like the King’s crown, the queen’s crown also referred to as the Royal crown, consists of eight hoops that join at the top underneath an orb of blue enamel and a band and a cross of pearls. Another band of pearls, 153 in all, line the upper edge of the crown.

The cap is sewn of purple velvet and is embellished with stylized flames embroidered with tiny pearls. The central gemstone in the crown is large amethyst.


The crown is made of silver with gold gilding and settings, and decorated with amethysts, citrines, chrysophrases, topazes and numerous pearls.


Height: Averagely 17.5 cm

Diameter: Averagely 14.5 cm

Weight: Averagely 550 grams

Other Distinguishing Features

  1. The queen’s crown has been designed with depressed arches whereas; the king’s crown has arches that arise to the center.
  2. The queen’s crown has a unique curved top while the king’s crown has a single rounded dome top.

Classification of Crowns

A crown being a symbol of power and majesty can be classified into three distinct types, which include:

  1. The coronation crown: This is a type of crown worn by monarchs during their crowing (during coronation ceremony).
  2. State Crown: This type of crown is usually worn by the monarchs whenever or wherever they are attending to or appearing for state functions and protocols.
  3. The Consort Crowns: This type of crown is worn by the queen’s consorts. A queen’s consort is the wife of a reigning king and wears this type of crown to signify the rank she is granted as a constitutional courtesy protocol.

Also Read: Difference Between Maroon And Burgundy


Different kingdoms have different preferences on how the king’s and queen’s crown should look like in terms of specifications and details of design. However, there are some kingdoms that do not have different crown designs for the queen and king. Therefore, you need to understand that there are no standard differences in terms of designs, when it comes to the queen and king’s crown.